WIP Zombie Book: Ted

I’ve been smack dab in the middle of writing my zombie book Zombie Central, and I figured I’d give you guys a peek of my character Ted.

74be96d7a60887ee1bd8e31330819980

I had a hard time finding a good picture that looked like him.

Ted is a side character who practices at my main character’s shooting range, Crap Shoot. He’s nearing on 18, which means pretty soon he’ll be a full raging zombie. Lee doesn’t know where Ted originated from, so he’s a bit of a mystery to him. In book two, I reveal a few little pieces of Ted’s past.

Here’s a snip of m book Zombie Central: 

I heard the door open and shut and my body froze. I pulled my gun back out and crept out into the main foyer of Crap Shoot. A figure stood there, illuminated by the light from the door. Ted. I gave him a quick glance then holstered my gun.

“What are you doing here? We’re closed,” I said curtly. I wasn’t in the mood to see anyone right now.

“Sorry, Lee, I forgot my bag. I thought you might be here still.” He gave me an apologetic shrug. Ted’s deep set hazel eyes were framed by dark brown hair. He looked like he belonged in a zombie world. Barrel-chested, huge arms, tattoos covering every spare inch of his exposed skin. I’d never asked where Ted had come from before he’d moved to Zombie Central. I think I’d remember him if he’d lived in my city before the zombie apocalypse had happened.

“It’s fine.” I nudged my head toward the lane he always occupied and he walked away without another word. He came back a few moments later, his black bag slung over his shoulder. He gave me a nod and exited the building. I watched him go until he was out of site. I liked Ted. There was something comforting about him. Plus he didn’t talk much, which I appreciated the most. I cleaned up and started heading out the door.

Leave a Reply

